Friday September 20, 2019


The NCIC has strived to promote Indian culture in Trinidad and Tobago since its existence and has received many accolades and achievements. Some of these are shared here. The Council has been named on many state-related committees and boards, such as, Queen’s Hall Board, National Carnival Commission, National Planning Committee for Carifesta, Prime Minister’s Race Relations Committee and the Prime Minister’s Committee to determine celebrations for the 150th Anniversary of Indian Arrival. The NCIC has also established working cultural contacts with the islands in which Indian culture is near extinct such as Jamaica, Martinique, Guadeloupe and St. Vincent, Guyana and Suriname.

The most prestigious project of the NCIC is the Divali Nagar which commenced in 1986. As a result of its impact on the cultural landscape of our nation, in 1991 the Government of Trinidad and Tobago granted the NCIC fifteen (15) acres of land specifically for the purpose of developing the Divali Nagar facility and for other community activities. The continued growth of the project further prompted the Government to approve the grant of another fifteen (15) acres of land north of this site. Thirteen (13) NCIC members, past and present, have received national awards at Independence Day for culture and other spheres of interest.Over the years the National Council of Indian Culture has played a pivotal role in many areas of nation-building in Trinidad and Tobago.

Many institutions have awarded and recognised the work of the NCIC and supported its mandate for promoting outstanding and meritorious service to the people of Trinidad and Tobago serving in social, cultural and religious capacities. The organisation has established and maintained a high standard of volunteer service which is respected locally, regionally and internationally.

The NCIC has been honoured by:

  • Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
  • Citizens for a Better Trinidad and Tobago
  • Hindu Seva Sangh and Couva Tabaquite Talparo Regional Corporation
  • Chaguanas Borough Corporation
  • WinTV
  • Caroni Cricket Association
  • Gayelle
  • Coeich Corazal, Belize, CA
  • Hindu Prachaar Kendra
  • 103 FM
  • Melody Stars Orchestra
  • Tassa Association of Trinidad and Tobago
  • Ayodhya Research Institute, Department of Culture or U.P., India

Perhaps the most prestigious award to date is the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman (Overseas Indian Award) constituted by the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs, Government of India in conjunction with the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (Non-resident Indian Day). This is an honour for exceptional and meritorious contribution in a chosen field or profession, handed out by the President of India.

While the NCIC itself has been awarded the Hummingbird Medal (Gold) in 1973 for its contribution to Indian Music and Drama in Trinidad and Tobago, fourteen (14) of its members (both past and present) have also received National Awards at Independence for their contribution to culture and national life.

They include:

Mr. Bisram Gopie (Community Service), The Public Service Medal of Merit (Silver) 1971

Justice Ralph Narine (Law), Chaconia Medal (Gold) 1988

Mr. Ravindranath Maharaj (Ravi Ji) (Community Work), Hummingbird Medal (Silver) 1988

Dr. Hans Hanoomansingh (Culture), Hummingbird Medal (Gold) 1990

Dr. Vijay Naraynsingh (Medicine/Surgery), Chaconia Medal (Gold) 1991

Dr. Deokinanan Sharma (Culture), Hummingbird Medal (Gold) 1995

Ms. Rosemarie Dipnarine (Social Worker), Hummingbird Medal (Silver) 2000

Mr. Surujdeo Mangaroo (Businessman, Culture), Hummingbird Medal (Gold) 2012


The NCIC has made a highly-respected contribution to the religious and cultural landscape of the country. It has helped to create remarkable cognizance and appreciation for Indian Culture and Hinduism, establishing itself as a household name with pioneers and activists dedicated to preserving and propagating East Indian culture and influence both locally and abroad.

Above: Some of the awards the Council has received over the years.

Related Links